now I get it.

I used to shake my head at moms who couldn’t brush their kids’ hair before leaving the house.

I considered dirt under a child’s fingernails to mean the mom just doesn’t care.

equating sprinkler time with bath time was gross and lazy.

poptarts were the devil’s snack.

I used to dust and vacuum once a week.

my husband could find his clothes in his dresser drawers instead of folded on the couch.

unloading and loading the dishwasher was part of the regular routine. now? clean dishes in the dishwasher and two full sinks are the norm.

I never understood kids in wrinkled, unmatched clothing.

but now I get it. I completely understand.

when the oldest child can dress herself plus pick out her little sister’s clothes, you let her. why? because it saves you time and energy. time to dress and clean the baby. or not.

dusting and vacuuming has become a bonus. i’ve taken to picking up the bigger pieces of leaf trash, dust bunnies, paper scraps, and food particles by hand and calling it a day. why? because the baby has become terrified of the vacuum cleaner. I wish I could say the same for the dust rag. I’ll try to come up with a reason for that.

why are our clothes on the couch? because if you’ve ever tried to put away 6-7 piles of clothing/towels/things to hang up you know it easily takes 45 minutes. I’d rather be eating.

and there’s a trick to letting sprinkler time be bath time. as long as they come directly inside after being wet & nicely dried off, you’re golden. bath-time, done! straight to bed!

dirty fingernails? there are 60 nails for me to cut & clean, 80 counting my own. I’m actually letting them all grow right now and will clip them all at once. I think it’ll be easier to do it all on one day. a little obsessive, I know. back off.

and not brushing their hair? gimme a break. put their hair up at night, with a little luck it’ll save you time in the morning. and anyways, it’s summertime.

I get it. I’m there. and I completely understand.

One response »

  1. I don’t understand. Why can’t you starch and iron Jonathan’s sweat pant shorts? Why isn’t Karis’ hair always in a french braid? Why doesn’t Natalie know to refuse all sugar products when I offer them to her? Yea, I guess I really don’t understand…and I can’t relate.

Leave a Reply

